You are invited to participate in the International Conference on Hybrid and Organic Photovoltaics (HOPV16) to be held in Swansea, United Kingdom, from 28th June - 1st July 2016.

HOPV is now established as a unique forum for the presentation and discussion of the advances in hybrid and organic photovoltaics. Prof.'s James Durrant, Henry Snaith and David Worsley, chairs of this 8th HOPV conference, invite you to join them in Swansea to present your latest research in a new conference centre just completed on the Welsh coast adjacent to Swansea. The conference format will follow previous HOPV meetings over a full three days, with plenary sessions for keynote and invited talks, as well as room for plenty of contributed talks by participant scientists and unlimited poster presentation. There will also be a satellite workshop on the 28th June.


Topics to be covered by the conference:

  • Material synthesis and processing
  • Device architecture and optimisation
  • Functional and structural characterisation
  • Material and device modelling
  • Material and device stability
  • Scale up and commercial development
  • Related applications, including carrier multiplication, tandem devices and solar to fuels


Workshop on printing and fabrication of 3rd gen PV in particular Perovskite.

Chair: Dr. Trystan M. Watson, Swansea University, UK

The workshop will take place on Tuesday 28th of June and will be held at Swansea University.



Swansea is Wales' Waterfront City and is set on the five mile sweep of Swansea Bay in the heart of South Wales. This region is a key centre for the development of hybrid and organic photovoltaic technologies - housing both GCell Ltd., a world leading company for the commercialisation of DSSC's and Swansea University's £50m SPECIFIC Integrated Knowledge Centre, targeting the scale up and demonstration of printed PV technologies. Swansea University's magnificent new Bay Campus is set on a 65 acre site located right on the beach on the eastern approach to Swansea, Wales. It is one of the few universities globally with direct access onto a beach and its own seafront promenade.

Social Dinner

The HOPV16 Social Dinner will take place on 1st July 2016 in the Brangwyn Hall.

Please book your social dinner ticket in advance through registration. Deadline for buying the ticket for the Social Dinner is on 1st June 2016. The organization will collect the tickets at the entrance for capacity reasons.


nanoGe App

Download the nanoGe App and have all the HOPV16 conference information on your mobile.

Keynote Speakers

Richard Friend (Cavendish Laboratory - University of Cambridge, United Kingdom)
Karl Leo (Technische Universitaet Dresden, Germany)
Ayodhya N. Tiwari (Swiss Federal Laboratories for Material Science and Technology, Switzerland)

Invited Speakers

Christoph Brabec (University of Erlangen-Nürnberg, Germany)
Filippo De Angelis (CNR-ISTM Perugia, Italy)
Aldo Di Carlo (CHOSE-University of Rome, Italy)
Michael Graetzel (École Polytechnique Fédérale de Lausanne, Switzerland)
Anders Hagfeldt (École Polytechnique Fédérale de Lausanne, Switzerland)
Laura Herz (University of Oxford, United Kingdom)
Kwanghee Lee (Gwangju Institute of Science and Technology, Korea, Republic of)
Iain McCulloch (King Abdullah University of Science and Technology, Saudi Arabia)
Michael McGehee (Stanford School of Engineering, United States)
Paul Meredith (University of Queensland, Australia)
Subodh Mhaisalkar (Nanyang Technological University, Singapore)
Tsutomu Miyasaka (Toin University of Yokohama, Japan)
Aditya Mohite (Los Alamos National Laboratory, United States)
Jenny Nelson (Imperial College, United Kingdom)
Peng Wang (Zhejiang University, China)

Invited Speakers Sessions

Giribabu Lingamallu (CSIR-Indian Institute of Chemical Technology, India)
Petra Cameron (University of Bath, United Kingdom)
Chris Case (Oxford PV Ltd, United Kingdom)
Seigo Ito (University of Hyogo, Japan)
David Jones (University of Melbourne, Australia )
Maria Antonietta Loi (University of Groningen, The Netherlands)
Iván Mora-Sero (University of Jaume I, Spain)
Dieter Neher (University of Potsdam, Germany)
Emilio Palomares (Institute of Chemical Research of Catalonia / Institució Catalana de Recerca I Estudis Avançats, Spain)
Aron Walsh (University of Bath, United Kingdom)
Trystan Watson (Swansea University, United Kingdom)
Xinhua Zhong (East China Universityof Science and Technology, China)

Advisory Board

Juan Bisquert (Universitat Jaume I, Spain)
Filippo De Angelis (CNR-ISTM Perugia, Italy)
Michael Graetzel (École Polytechnique Fédérale de Lausanne, Switzerland)
Anders Hagfeldt (École Polytechnique Fédérale de Lausanne, Switzerland)
Rene Janssen (Eindhoven University of Technology, Netherlands)
Michael McGehee (Stanford School of Engineering, United States)
Mohammad Khaja Nazeeruddin (École Polytechnique Fédérale de Lausanne, Switzerland)










  • The Royal Society of Chemistry offers travel grants for members. [+]

  • SuperSolar offers student registrations to PhD students from UK universities. [+]