#Adinos - Advances in inorganic thin film semiconductors for solar energy conversion: From photovoltaics to solar fuels

Description of topical focus

Fueled by the rapid advancements in the field of chalcogenide and perovskite materials, many promising semiconductors have emerged with high optical absorption and excellent optoelectronic properties. These include novel and earth abundant chalcogenides, oxides, pnictides and defect-tolerant perovskite inspired materials. Development of these material systems are desirable for their applicability in thin film solar cells, tandem solar cells and photoelectrochemical devices for water splitting, CO2 reduction and ammonia synthesis. The symposium invites contribution involving novel PV concepts and materials development. Example material systems include but not limited to:

kesterite (Cu2ZnSn(S,Se)4 and derived compounds), sulfides and selenides (CuInGaS2, Sb2Se3, Sb2S3), oxides (BiFeO3, BiTiO3, Cu2O, BiVO4 etc.), nitrides (ZnSnN2, Cu3N), and emerging chalcogenides (BaZrS3, Cu3BiS3, AgBiS2, NaBiS2, CuSbS2, GeS, etc.)

List of conference topics
  • Rational design and synthesis approaches: high-throughput experimentation, combinatorial synthesis
  • New insights on materials growth and properties: in-situ insights on growth and crystallization process, advance characterization
  • Theory and computational studies on electronic structure and defects
  • New phenomena: photoferroelectrics, ultrathin nanocrystal absorbers
  • Device application: thin film solar cells, new device architectures for solar cells, solar water splitting and photoelectrocatalytic devices

ūüŹÖ Best Poster prize valued at 200€ from EES Catalysis, a journal of Royal Society of Chemistry (RSC)

Invited Speakers
Fatwa Abdi

Helmholtz-Zentrum Berlin für Materialien und Energie GmbH, Germany


Diego Colombara

Università degli Studi di Genova, Via Dodecaneso, 31, 16146, Genova, Italy‚Äč


Alex Ganose

Department of‚ÄĮChemistry, Imperial College London


Thomas Hannappel

Ilmenau University of Technology


Wolfram Jaegermann

Technical University of Darmstadt


Wouter Maijenburg

Martin-Luther-University Halle-Wittenberg


Nina Plankensteiner

Interuniversity Microelectronics Centre (IMEC)


Gian-Marco Rignanese



Byungha Shin

Korea Advanced Institute of Science and Technology (KAIST), South Korea

Symposium organizers

Xiaojing Hao

The University of New South Wales, Australia

Sudhanshu Shukla

Interuniversity Microelectronics Centre (IMEC)

Bart Vermang

Hasselt University, Institute for Materials Research, Wetenschapspark 1

Krishnan Rajeshwa

University of Texas, Arlington,US

Julien Bachmann

Friedrich-Alexander-Universität Erlangen-Nürnberg


Mirjana Dimitrievska

EMPA Swiss Federal Laboratories for Materials Science and Technology


Chuck Hages

University of Florida


Robert Hoye

imperial college london


Johan Lauwaert

Ghent University


David Mitzi

Duke University


Rajiv Ramanujam Prabhakar

Lawrence Berkeley National Lab


Edgardo Saucedo Silva

Universitat Politècnica de Catalunya


David Tilley

University of Zurich

We use our own and third party cookies for analysing and measuring usage of our website to improve our services. If you continue browsing, we consider accepting its use. You can check our Cookies Policy in which you will also find how to configure your web browser for the use of cookies. More info