#QMat - Materials for Quantum Technology

Description of topical focus

The 2022 Nobel Prize in Physics recognized experiments with entangled photons that underlie quantum technology. This technology extends well beyond the optical domain into magnetism, superconductivity, and topological materials. The impact and application of these advances are intimately connected to materials, interactions, and their integration into functional circuitry. That is why the QMat symposium is focused on materials science and nanofabrication that aim to advance quantum technology.

The QMat symposium will provide a forum for discussing cutting-edge advances in materials design and experimental studies of field-matter interactions. These include light-matter interactions such as single photon emission, superradiance, plasmonics, polaritonics, and spectroscopic methods of their investigation. Topological materials with exotic electronic states, magnetic and spintronic phenomena at the 2D limit, and experimental approaches for their visualization and study. We seek contributions addressing new concepts in realizing, studying, and applying these phenomena.

List of conference topics
  • Light-matter interactions (photonics, excitonics, plasmonics, polaritonics)
  • Self-assembly and cooperative phenomena
  • Materials science for quantum computing and information processing
  • Fabrication and investigation of topological materials
  • 2D van der Waals magnetic materials
  • Spintronic and Magnonic applications of quantum materials
  • Theory and simulations of field-matter interactions and their applications
  • Molecular quantum materials
Symposium organizers
José J. Baldoví

Universidad de Valencia - ICMol (Institute of Molecular Science)

Dmitry Baranov

Lund University

Jannika Lauth

Institute of Physical Chemistry and Electrochemistry, Leibniz Universität Hannover, DE

Invited Speakers
Amilcar Bedoya Pinto

Universidad de Valencia - ICMol (Institute of Molecular Science)

Luca Celardo

University of Florence, Via Sansone 1


Elisabetta Collini

Department of Chemical Sciences, Università degli Studi di Padova


Francesco Di Stasio

Istituto Italiano di Tecnologia (IIT)


Jose Lado

Aalto University School of Science


Simone Latini

Max Planck Institute for the Structure and Dynamics of Matter


Nicolò Maccaferri

Umea University

Beatriz Martin Garcia

Samsung Advanced Institute of Technology, Samsung Electronics


Agustín Mihi

Institut de Ciència de Materials de Barcelona (ICMAB-CSIC), Spain


Sivan Refaely-Abramson

Weizmann Institute of Science


Kezilebieke Shawulienu

University of Jyväskylä, Finland


Saul Velez

Universidad Autónoma de Madrid


Michael Zopf

Leibniz University Hannover

We use our own and third party cookies for analysing and measuring usage of our website to improve our services. If you continue browsing, we consider accepting its use. You can check our Cookies Policy in which you will also find how to configure your web browser for the use of cookies. More info