#e-FuelSyn - Electrocatalysis for the Production of Fuels and Chemicals

Description of topical focus

The synthesis of molecular fuels and chemical feedstocks from renewable energy sources has enormous potential as a scalable approach for reducing our dependence on fossil fuel resources. Electrification of the chemical processes holds the promise to be one of the solutions. This symposium invites contributions on the latest progress in the field of electrocatalysis, reporting state of the art catalyst, techniques and advances in our understanding of their function and how concepts are used to design new catalysts. The sessions will span from molecular catalysts to materials, including biologic and biohybrid systems, tackling the challenges required to develop viable technologies. Water oxidation, water reduction, CO2 reduction and dinitrogen reduction will be covered together with the transformation of small organic molecules.

List of conference topics
  • Fundamental strategies to design new electrocatalysis
  • Mechanistic understanding
  • In situ and Operando Analyses
  • Molecular, inorganic, reticular, biologic and hybrid catalytic systems

🏅 Best Poster prize valued at 200€ from EES Catalysis, a journal of Royal Society of Chemistry (RSC)

🏅 2 Best Oral prizes valued at 200€ from GEQO.

Symposium organizers
Carla Casadevall Serrano

Institute of Chemical Research of Catalonia (ICIQ), The Barcelona Institute of Science and Technology (BIST), and University Rovira i Virgili (URV)

Julio Lloret Fillol

Institute of Chemical Research of Catalonia (ICIQ), Barcelona Institute of Science and Technology (BIST)

Invited Speakers
Vincent Artero

CEA Grenoble University

Marcella Bonchio

University of Padova

Raffaella Buonsanti

Ecole Polytechnique Federale de Lausanne (EPFL)

María Escudero-Escribano

ICREA and Catalan Institute of Nanoscience and Nanotechnology (ICN2)

Laia Francàs Forcada

Universitat Autònoma de Barcelona (UAB)

Dennis Hetterscheid

Leiden University

Núria López

Institute of Chemical Research of Catalonia (ICIQ), Barcelona Institute of Science and Technology (BIST)

Victor Mougel

ETH Zurich

Erwin Reisner

University of Cambridge - UK

Orestes Rivada Wheelaghan

Departamento de Química Inorgánica, Universidad de Sevilla

Marc Robert

Laboratoire d'Electrochimie Moléculaire, Université Paris Diderot

Beatriz Roldan Cuenya

Fritz Haber Institute of the Max Planck Society

Jan Rossmeisl

University of Copenhagen

Inke Siewert

Göttingen University

We use our own and third party cookies for analysing and measuring usage of our website to improve our services. If you continue browsing, we consider accepting its use. You can check our Cookies Policy in which you will also find how to configure your web browser for the use of cookies. More info